top of page

Public Engagement

Through a contact of mine (from one of the parallel activities I am involved in) I was invited to give a talk to sixth form girls at the Manchester High school for Girls in Fallowfields (Southern Manchester). As I research consumer involvement in the implementation of change, focussing mainly on how people perceive their participation in sustainability, the offer seemed to be very suitable for a ‘test drive’ on some aspects of my research.

Interested in pursuing a career in sciences, the students created an afterschool club in which academics, researcher and students of all levels present their current research and pathway to reach it in order for them to understand what awaits them in academia.

As my academic career led me to a wide diversity of countries and areas (from fashion to aeronautics) I decided to concentrate my presentation on the numerous steps that brought me to Manchester and the possible outcomes and contributions from my current research.

It was one of the most interesting presentations I have ever made as these students are very eager to understand what might happen to them once they finish high school and start their university life. I highly recommend everybody to try and do this at least once to get a ‘down to earth’ feeling you tend to forget in academia.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page