top of page

My first viva experience

My first viva was a completely new experience for me. I´m mechanical engineer and I have a Master degree as well. So, I could say that I have experience setting out my work, however this time, my supervisor suggested that it was not necessary to prepare a presentation or a document for viva, that sounds a little estrange.

The viva´s day was a little stressing, I was a little nervous because I did not know how viva would be lead up or what kind of questions I would face. My viva began at 11:00 a.m. and first question was about my nationality, I think that this question is because examiner what to know if you are native speaker or not.

When viva began properly, my supervisor, examiner and I reviewed page by page the first year report. Examiner has made some notes before and points out his observations as well as questions. Questions were in all directions, objectives, equations, methodology, concepts and applications, bibliography and grammar mistakes as well.

I think that examiner made a deeply review of my work and he gave feedback and suggestions for next year work. At the end of viva I was a little surprised because examiner knew each section of my report, even more than I could remember.

Before to say good bye, I would like to give some advices:

1.- Calm down, you wrote your work, you know your work.

2.-Be aware, most of questions will be related with the basis of your project.

3.-Pay attention to spelling mistakes.

4.- Remember that first year report can be a good support for your final report.

5.-We are not native speakers, speak slow and clear.

Thanks, I will see you next year to complete this history…..


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page